Xenophobic attacks: Ekweremadu to lead Senate delegation to South Africa

by | March 2, 2017 1:47 am


Senate has set up a seven-man delegation, led by the deputy Senate president, Ike Ekweremadu, to visit South African Parliament to seek permanent solution to xenophobic attacks against Nigerians.
Other members of the delegation are Senate leader, Ahmad Lawan; Senate chief whip, Olusola Adeyeye; Shehu Sani, Shaaba Lafiaji; Magnus Abe, and Stella Oduah.
Senate president, Bukola Saraki, who announced the list of the delegation, said it was in line with the earlier resolution by the Senate to send a parliamentary team to South African Parliament to address the problem of xenophobia in that country.
The Senate had on Tuesday resolved to send a parliamentary delegation with a view to holding a dialogue with their South African counterparts on how to sustainably tackle the reoccurring menace.
The Senate also condemned in strong terms the resurgence of the xenophobic attacks and extra-judicial killings of Nigerians by the South African police, and South Africans.
These resolutions were made following a motion sponsored by Rose Oko and four others, urging the Senate to urgently intervene in the situation to salvage Nigerians in South Africa from further agonies.
Other lawmakers expressed serious disappointment about the situation and implored Nigerian government to be very decisive in handling the matter in such a way that would serve as deterrent to them in future.