2019: Senate confirms seven RECs

by | February 14, 2018 6:56 pm

The Senate has confirmed the appointment of seven nominees for the position of Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) of Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

With a year to the 2019 general elections, the RECs would oversee elections at the state level.

They were confirmed on Wednesday after the upper legislative chamber considered the report of the Committee on INEC.

Presenting the report, Chairman of committee, Suleiman Nazif, explained that of the nine nominees referred to the committee for screening, the Osun nominee Eric Olawale, did not show up while that of Akwa Ibom State, Monday Tom, was stood down for further legislative action.

The confirmed nominees include: Baba Abba Yusuf (Borno State), Segun Agbaje (Ekiti), Uthman Abdulrahman Ajidagba (Kwara), Cyril Omorogbe (Edo), Yahaya Bello (Nasarawa), Emmanuel Alex Hart (Rivers) and Mohammed Magaji Ibrahim (Gombe).