NEC approves N3.5b for vaccination

by Tony Ailemen, Abuja

October 19, 2017 | 10:00 pm
  |     |     |   Start Conversation

The National Economic Council (NEC) has approved the sum of N3.5billion for the vaccination as part of efforts to tackle communicable diseases across the country.

The decision was announced by Governor Okezie Ikpeazu of Abia state at the end of the meeting of the Council presided over by Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo.

The Council made up of governors from from 36 states of the Federation had expressed concerns over the recent outbreak of communicable diseases, including Monkey pox, Yellow fever, Chicken pox and Cholera which has ravaged several communities in Bayelsa spreading to eleven states.

Briefing State House Correspondents, the governor of Abia State Okezie Ikpeazu council said the Council invited and received briefings from respected stakeholders, including the Sultan of Sokoto Sa’ad Abubakar III who has been acting as the face of polio Eradication to boost the campaign against the disease, especially in the North.

The Sultan said his presence at the meeting signified the commitment of traditional institutions to the eradication of polio in Nigeria.

Governor Ikpaezu explained that NEC which was satisfied with the presentation by the Sultan, noted that although Nigeria was making progress in polio eradication and routine immunization, there is need for State government to honour their counterpart funding in order to achieve appreciable impacts.

Edo State governor Godwin Obaseki, while also speaking on the issues, said heal officials had briefed council about the preparation for measles vaccination ahead of the 2017/2018 dry season.

According to him, this is the period associated with outbreaks of measles in the country.

He announced that vaccination for measles in this year will commence in 19 northern states of the north and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) from 26th October to March 20th next year.

He said 12 states have already paid their counterpart funds for the exercise. “They are Bayelsa, Borno, Edo, Imo, Kaduna, Kano, Kebbi, Nasarawa, Osun, Sokoto and Zamfara states.

Governor Obaseki disclosed that 24 states were yet to redeem their payment of counterpart funds for the exercise.

Council also yesterday approved the setting up of a sub-committee comprising governors from each state of the six geo-political zones to fastrack the process of industrialization in the country.

Government through the Nigeria Industrial Policy Competitive Advisory Council (NIPCAC) has been pursuing the implementation of eight key issues requiring urgent resolution to achieve the economic feet.

Members of the sub-committee are governors of Kaduna, Kwara, Adamwa, Ogun, Edo and Abia.

The eight key areas of target are improving broadband penetration in the country, resolving multiple taxation, facilitating access to land, providing security for investments and standardizing regulatory requirements.

Others issues are facilitating integrated business linkages, collaborating on project development and maintenance and providing shared facilities.

The sub-committee is expected to monitor and report on the implementation of the recommendations to address the eight key issues with emphasis on harmonizing of right of ways charges between states and the Federal governments.


Tony Ailemen,  Abuja

by Tony Ailemen, Abuja

October 19, 2017 | 10:00 pm
  |     |     |   Start Conversation

Big Read |  


What Nigeria must do before signing AfCFTA

Nigeria’s President Muhammadu Buhari last Wednesday gave a hint that he would sign the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA)...

MTN Banner ADS 2


Newsletter Fixed income