Osinbajo approves appointment of 21 perm secs


August 10, 2017 | 2:01 pm
  |     |     |   Start Conversation

Acting President Yemi Osibanjo has approved the appointment of 21 new Permanent Secretaries in the Federal Civil Service.

A statement released in Abuja by the Office of the Head of Civil Service of the Federation, Winifred Oyo-Ita said the portfolios of the Permanent Secretaries will be announced in due course.

About 20 Ministries, Departments, and Agencies (MDAs) are said to have been functioning without permanent secretaries.

Their appointment came on the heels of a week-long rigorous examination of 300 Federal Directors at Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs).

Over 200 of the 300 Directors shortlisted for interviews and verification for the 21 vacant positions of Federal Permanent Secretaries failed to scale the hurdle for the final stages of the exercise.

About 100 scaled the verification of credentials, stage where 78 later proceeded to sit for the  “Information and Communication Technology (ICT) Assessment Test” held at the Digital Bridge Institute (DBI) Utako, Abuja.

The 78 successful Directors sat for written examination on “Relevant Public Service and Policy Issues”, at the National Defence College (NDC) Auditorium Abuja.

The successful ones proceeded to the third and final level which was the“Oral Interview/Interactive Session” at the Office of the Head of the Civil Service of Federation in Abuja.

In line with the federal character principle one permanent secretary is appointed per state as well as the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

The eligible states where the federal directors wrote the examination were Abia, Akwa-Ibom, Anambra, Bayelsa, Cross-River, Delta, Edo and Ekiti states.

Others were Imo, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Lagos, Nasarawa, Ogun, Ondo, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto and the FCT.

The appointed permanent secretaries are: Ehuria Georgina Ekeoma (Abia), Akpan Edet Sunday (Akwa Ibom), Anagbogu Ifeoma Nkiruka ((Anambra), Walson-Jack Diiarau Didi Esther (Bayelsa), Gekpe George Isu (Cross River), Aliboh Leon Lawrence (Delta), Uwaifo Osarenona Clement (Edo), Folayan Ayodele Olaniyi (Ekiti), Osuji Ndubusi
Marcellinus (Imo) and Mu’azu Abdulkadir (Kaduna).

Others are Sulaiman Mustapha Lawal (Kano), Abdullahi Abdulazeez Mashi (Katsina), Adebiyi Bolaji Adekunle (Lagos) Ibrahim Musa Wen (Nasarawa), Odewale Samson Olajide (Ogun), Adesola Olusade (Ondo), Adekunle Olusegun Adeyemi (Oyo), Nabasu Bitrus Bako (Plateau), Ekaro Comfort Chukumuebobo (Rivers), Umar Mohammed Bello (Sokoto) and Aduda Gabriel Tanimu (FCT).

Tags: , ,


August 10, 2017 | 2:01 pm
  |     |     |   Start Conversation

Big Read |  


What Nigeria must do before signing AfCFTA

Nigeria’s President Muhammadu Buhari last Wednesday gave a hint that he would sign the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA)...

Top 100 (300 x250)

MTN banner 2


Newsletter Fixed income