UPDATED: US, Canada, Mexico to co-host 2026 World Cup


June 13, 2018 | 12:08 pm
  |     |     |   Start Conversation

The International Federal of Association of Football (FIFA) has announced that 2026 World Cup tournament will be co-hosted by three countries, US, Canada and Mexico.

The announcement marks the first time the FIFA World Cup is hosted by three countries, although majority (60 matches) of the tournament will be played on United States soil. Canada will host 10 matches while Mexico will also host 10 matches. The final will be played at MetLife Stadium in New Jersey, United States.

The last time the men’s World Cup was in North America was when the United States hosted in 1994. It was held in Mexico in 1970 and 1986, and Canada has never hosted.

The North American bid defeated its only challenger, Morocco, by a vote of 134-65.

According to the New York Times, the American federation spent more than $6 million — out of a combined budget of about $8 million — to bring the World Cup back to North America, and its first-term president, Carlos Cordeiro, had criss-crossed the globe to meet voters since his election in February.






June 13, 2018 | 12:08 pm
  |     |     |   Start Conversation

Big Read |  


90 [ninety] candles for Dr. J.K. Randle

Continued from last week. When John Campbell served as the Ambassador of the United States of America to Nigeria from...

Top 100 (300 x250)



Election Banner